Deprecated: mysql_connect(): The mysql extension is deprecated and will be removed in the future: use mysqli or PDO instead in /home/httpd/vhosts/audiobookonline.org/audiobookscorner.com/connect-to-mysql-db.php on line 32
When Pride Still Mattered - David Maraniss - Biography Audio Books - Sports Biographies - Audio Book - Audiobook MP3
Buy Audio Books, audiobook download, download audio books: Immediately Download Your Audio Book - No Membership - No Fuss -  Anywhere and Anytime
           
       
Browse by Category
Arts & Drama on Audio
Biography Audio Books
Business Audio Books
Crime & Thrillers Audios
Fiction Audio Books
Free Pimsleur Learn  Second Language
Health & Recreation
History Audio Books
Humor Audios
Kids Audio Books
Radio Show Audios
Religion & Spiritual
Self Help Audio Books
TV & Film Audio Books
More Audio Books:
David Italian Lombardi Maraniss Mattered Pride Still Vince biography character children country immigrant players rose sport story transformed ultimately wife  

Just Published - Brand New Audiobooks
Hitchhiker's Guide To The Galaxy, The: The Primary Phase Douglas Adams
A Special Primary Edition of the original radio series The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, first broadcast on BBC Radio 4 in 1978 and recently voted the UK's Favourite Audiobook in a Guardian Poll.
Sarah Jane Adventures, The: The Ghost House Stephen Cole
A crack in time and a lost child mean trouble for Sarah Jane in this thrilling story, read by Elisabeth Sladen.
Crossing Over Anna Kendall
Whether it’s a curse, a blessing, or an ability, the fact remains that whenever Roger is injured or in enough pain he crosses over to the land of the dead.
Murder of Promise, A Robert Andrews
When legendary Washington Post reporter Mary Keegan is found murdered, homicide detectives Frank Kearney and Jose Phelps pull up the file on another open case.
Hellion Bride, The Catherine Coulter
Catherine Coulter's popular Bride series continues with the second book featuring the Sherbrookes.
Riptide Catherine Coulter
Fearful of a stalker, Becca flees to a small coastal town in Maine.
Watchers Dean Koontz
The explosive story of a man and a woman, caught in a relentless storm of mankind’s darkest creation...
Doctor Who and the Terror of the Autons Terrance Dicks
Geoffrey Beevers reads this exciting novelisation of a classic Doctor Who adventure.
Secret Pilgrim, The John le Carre
Simon Russell Beale stars in this BBC Radio broadcast full-cast dramatisation of John le Carré’s last Smiley novel.
City of Ghosts Stacia Kane
From rising star Stacia Kane comes the third novel in her dark and sexy Chess Putnam series, perfect for fans of Kim Harrison and Patricia Briggs.
When Pride Still Mattered
Audio Book  When Pride Still Mattered
Enlarge this image

Five Stars
Categories :  Sports Biographies
Biography Audio Books
 
When Pride Still Mattered by David Maraniss
 
           Add Audio Book to Cart
 
 
Book Publisher :  Simon & Schuster
Author :  David Maraniss
Narrator :  David Maraniss
 
Length :  5 hours (Abridged)
 
Download Price :  17.99
 
Format :  Downloadable Audio Book
 
 
© Simon & Schuster

When Pride Still Mattered is the quintessential story of the American family:

How Vince Lombardi, the son of an immigrant Italian butcher, rose to the top, and how his character and will to prevail transformed him, his wife, his children, his players, his sport, and ultimately the entire country.

It is also a vibrant football story, abundant with accounts of Lombardi's thrilling life in that world, from his playing days with the Seven Blocks of Granite at Fordham in the 1930s to the glory of coaching the Green Bay Packers in the 1960s.

It is also a study of national myths, tracing what Pulitzer Prize-winning biographer David Maraniss calls the fallacy of the innocent past, and an absorbing account of the mythmakers from Grantland Rice to Howard Cosell who shaped Lombardi's image.

By the time he died of cancer in 1970, after one season in Washington during which he transformed the Redskins into winners, Lombardi had become a mythic character who transcended sport, and his legend has only grown in the decades since.

In When Pride Still Mattered, Maraniss renders Lombardi as flawed and driven yet ultimately misunderstood, a heroic figure who was more complex and authentic than the stereotypical images of him propounded by admirers and critics.

Using the same meticulous reporting and sweeping narrative style that he employed in First in His Class, his classic biography of Bill Clinton, Maraniss separates myth from reality and wondrously recaptures Vince Lombardi's life and times.


Warning: SimpleXMLElement::__construct(): Entity: line 1: parser error : Start tag expected, '<' not found in /home/httpd/vhosts/audiobookonline.org/audiobookscorner.com/youtube_class.php on line 30

Warning: SimpleXMLElement::__construct(): No longer available in /home/httpd/vhosts/audiobookonline.org/audiobookscorner.com/youtube_class.php on line 30

Warning: SimpleXMLElement::__construct(): ^ in /home/httpd/vhosts/audiobookonline.org/audiobookscorner.com/youtube_class.php on line 30

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'Exception' with message 'String could not be parsed as XML' in /home/httpd/vhosts/audiobookonline.org/audiobookscorner.com/youtube_class.php:30 Stack trace: #0 /home/httpd/vhosts/audiobookonline.org/audiobookscorner.com/youtube_class.php(30): SimpleXMLElement->__construct('No longer avail...') #1 /home/httpd/vhosts/audiobookonline.org/audiobookscorner.com/title.aspx(432): youtube->get_youtubevideo('When Pride Stil...') #2 {main} thrown in /home/httpd/vhosts/audiobookonline.org/audiobookscorner.com/youtube_class.php on line 30